

# 2018 NECLAS PRIZE SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

The New England Council of Latin American Studies (NECLAS) invites submissions for its annual prizes in the following categories: Best Book (Marysa Navarro Best Book Prize), Best Article (Joseph T. Criscenti Best Article Prize), Best Dissertation, Best Translation, and Best Edited Collection.

#### **Details of Prize Submissions:**

	Best Book	Best Article	Best Edited	Best Translation	Best
			Collection		Dissertation
Publication/ Conferral Date	2017	2017	2016, 2017	2015, 2016, 2017	2017
Type of Work	Monographs only	Journal articles or chapters in edited collections	Edited collections only	Translations of books or work related to Latin America	Dissertations
Language	Spanish, English or Portuguese.				
Who May Submit	<ul> <li>Authors working in or defending their work (for dissertations) at a institutions of higher education in New England (MA, VT, NH, MA, CT, RI, and Western NY); OR</li> <li>Authors currently living in the NECLAS area (New England: MA, VT, NH, MA, CT, RI, and Western NY);</li> <li>AND Authors who are current members of NECLAS (to renew membership or join NECLAS please visit <u>www.neclas.org</u>). ALL AUTHORS MUST BE MEMBERS IN GOOD STANDING (2018-19 membership) of NECLAS.</li> </ul>				
Submission	Electronic format is strongly preferred for all categories.				
	<ol> <li>Electronic copies should be sent to the Committee Chair in the appropriate category and copied to NECLAS Secretariat (neclas.sec@gmail.com). Please use the subject line "for consideration for NECLAS prize."</li> <li>Proof of NECLAS membership must accompany each submission.</li> <li>Note: The Chair will distribute electronic submission to the other two members of the committee.</li> <li>In the case of non-electronic submissions of Books, Edited Volumes and Dissertations, please mail three copies to the NECLAS Secretariat along with a note indicating the NECLAS prize for which your work is to be considered and proof of NECLAS membership. NECLAS Secretariat will distribute the submissions to the other two members of the committee. The NECLAS Secretariat will accept three copies of work not provided in electronic form. Please submit your work: c/o Avary Thorne, University of New Hampshire, 210L Murkland Hall, Department of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Durham, NH 03824, Phone: (603) 862-4005, Email: avary.thorne@unh.edu.</li> </ol>				
Deadline	June 1 <sup>st</sup> , 2018				
	All materials nominated must reach the Chair of the specific Award Committee electronically or the NECLAS Secretariat by mail by June 1, 2018 (late submissions will not be considered).				

- Work will be judged on the quality of its research and analysis, in addition to its originality, writing and significance to the field.
- Candidates submitting material for consideration are responsible for confirming the original publication date to conform to the year listed above.
- The awards will be announced at the NECLAS 2018 Luncheon Ceremony at Clark University, and the awardees will be publicly honored. Please plan to attend to celebrate these achievements. To continue a pattern of excellence, winners are expected to serve on relevant prize committees for the following year.
- In the event of fewer than three submissions in a given prize category, they will automatically carry over for consideration the following year.

## How many works and to how many prizes may I submit?

• Only one work.

## **Chairs and Members of Prize Committees**

#### Marysa Navarro Best Book Prize:

Maria Rodrigues, Chair mrodrigu@holycross.edu

Abigail Adams Adams@ccsu.edu *Camilo Trumper*, Marysa Navarro Best Book Award 2017 ctrumper@buffalo.edu

## Joseph T. Criscenti Best Article Prize:

*Erin O'Connor, Chair* EOConnor@bridgew.edu

Melissa Weiner mfweiner@holycross.edu Gina Canepa ginacanepa@gmail.com

#### **Best Dissertation Prize:**

*Grant Burrier, Chair* gburrier0164@post03.curry.edu

Elizabeth Rivero Elizabeth.G.Rivero@uscga.edu Jason Oliver Chang jason.o.chang@uconn.edu **Best Translation Prize:** 

Joy Renjilian-Burgy, Chair jrenjili@wellesley.edu

*Mark Healey* mark.healey@uconn.edu

Louise E. Walker l.walker@neu.edu

## **Best Edited Volume Prize:**

Scott Weintraub, Chair scott.weintraub@unh.edu

Jessaca Leinaweaver jessaca\_leinaweaver@brown.edu

María Acosta Cruz macostacruz@clarku.edu